VIDA: Video and Image Data Access Video and Image Data Access - A visual collection with science content appropriate for K-8 standards-based science
Quick Search
Advanced Search

Vocabulary: » Term: » Records: » ID: 119

The three domain system: Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya
Observations This image set shows examples from the 3 biological domains.
Explanations The domains Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya represent three very different kinds of organisms. Bacteria and Archaea are single-celled prokaryotes. The domain Eukarya includes protists, fungi, plants, and animals.
California Standards Diverse life forms
National Standards Characteristics of living things
Diversity and adaptations of organisms
Related NSF Exemplary Curriculum Living things
Related Records

Escherichia coli

Mountain lion from the Sonora desert

Cholla cactus with various wildflowers from the Sonoran desert

Hot springs in the mountains


Club fungi growing on a dead tree

Creative Commons License Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 License.

Katie Hale
Student, Biological Sciences, California State University, Fullerton


California State University, Fullerton
Jan 10 2007



This material is based upon work that was supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0127164 to California State University Fullerton. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

VIDA: Video and Image Data Access